How to Become a Home Health Aide in Mississippi

Search Programs

Get information on programs by entering your zip code and request enrollment information.

Sponsored Search
Mississippi map

Mississippi regulates home health aides as certified nursing assistants (CNAs).

Mississippi’s HHAs may receive their training through Job Corps, the university system, or the agencies that employ these vital workers.

Under Mississippi law, a home health aide provides personal care, such as bathing, feeding, and dressing in the home of the client/patient, under the supervision of a registered nurse or agency therapist.

According to state employment projections, Mississippi needs 560 additional home health aides annually through 2028.


Mississippi Requirements for Home Health Aide Training Programs

Mississippi provides its home health aides with 75 hours of training, including 16 clinical hours, in an approved university or employer-provided program of study supervised by a registered nurse.

Among other topics, HHAs in the state learn to prepare regular meals and special diets using sound nutrition recommendations.

For example, meal prep training includes low sodium or allergen-restricted diets and any requirements for mechanical alterations such as pureed solids and thickened liquids.

HHAs also learn about the emotional impact of various illnesses and conditions on the client/patient and their family.

Five Home Health Aide Schools in Mississippi

1. Mississippi Job Corps Certified Nurse Assistant Program

Mississippi Job Corps Certified Nurse Assistant Program Logo

Job Corps trains certified nurse assistants, and the program exceeds the minimum home health aide certification standards.

In addition, the program costs the participant nothing and includes housing, a clothing allowance, meals, and a small stipend.

Consequently, unemployed or underemployed residents of Mississippi aged 18 to 24 might find the Job Corps a superior fit for their educational needs.

The Gulfport center, at 3300 20th Street; the Finch-Henry center, in Batesville, at 821 Highway 51 South; and the Mississippi center, in Crystal Springs, at 400 Harmony Road, all offer the CNA training program.

2. State of Mississippi Dual Enrollment Accelerated Programs

Mississippi high school students may opt for dual enrollment, meaning they simultaneously attend a state university or community college and high school.

Dual-enrolled students receive post-secondary credit for their completed coursework.

Mississippi students may also opt for dual credit, which means they receive high school and post-secondary credit for their academic efforts.

To qualify, each student must have a 3.0 grade point average or higher or receive a score of 30 on the ACT or at least 1390 on the SAT.

Students must also obtain an unconditional recommendation in writing from their high school guidance counselor, principal, or principal’s designee.

Unfortunately, this means that teachers’ endorsements do not meet the requirements.

3. Meridian Community College Healthcare Assistant Program

Meridian Community College Healthcare Assistant Program Logo

The Healthcare Assistant program takes one semester to complete and fulfills the 16-hour clinical training requirement.

Consequently, students must be at least 18 when classes begin.

After completion, students apply to Credential to take the National Nurse Aide Assessment Program Examination.

The HCA program costs $1776 in-state tuition and university fees plus program-specific fees for $2394.68.

4. Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College Health Care Assistant Program

Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College Health Care Assistant Program Logo

MGCCC’s HCA program tuition costs $1,650, or $126 less than Meridian’s.

However, the registration fee costs $75 more than at Meridian.

Other prices vary, so look closely at everything multiple times before you decide which school to attend.

The MGCCC program trains you to become a phlebotomist AND healthcare assistant, so increased employability easily offsets any difference in fees.

5. East Mississippi Community College Certified Nursing Assistant Program

East Mississippi Community College Certified Nursing Assistant Program Logo

EMCC offers a 90-hour certified nursing assistant program that takes nine weeks to complete.

The course also requires a 16-hour clinical rotation and a three-hour CPR class, totaling 109 hours.

The program occurs at the Golden Triangle Campus in Mayhew, 8731 South Frontage Road.

Full-time in-state tuition costs $1750 per semester and includes a $120 registration fee, $30 for online courses, and a $35 health fee.

Other fees may also apply.

Home Health Aide Schools in Mississippi – Summary Table

Top 5 Schools in Mississippi

School NameAddress
Mississippi Job Corps Certified Nurse Assistant Program400 Harmony Rd, Crystal Springs, MS 39059
State of Mississippi Dual Enrollment Accelerated Programs
Meridian Community College Healthcare Assistant Program910 Hwy 19 North Meridian, MS – 39307
Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College Health Care Assistant Program51 Main Street, Perkinston, MS 39573
East Mississippi Community College1512 Kemper St, Scooba, MS 39358

Salary and Experience

Nationwide, home health aides earn a median annual wage of $29,430.

In contrast, Mississippi’s HHAs earn $22,410, for a wage gap of $7,020 per year, more than a third of their earning power elsewhere.

Although Mississippi has a low cost of living, this lost earning capacity makes a massive difference to anyone paying off student loans, buying a home, or paying for a car.

Consequently, many Mississippi healthcare assistants leave the state for better pay.

Annual Salary Range:
$22K
$23K
$26K

Average Salary of Home Health Aides in Mississippi

City NameSalary
Jackson$24,662
Gulfport$24,227
Biloxi$24,420
Hattiesburg$24,076
Greenville$24,495
Meridian$24,423
Tupelo$23,244
Southaven$25,495
Pascagoula$24,225
Olive Branch$25,431
* Salary information last updated 2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does the Job Corps Certified Nurse Assistant Program Cost?

The program costs nothing for low-income and unemployed people ages 18 to 24 and includes housing, meals, a clothing allowance, and a small stipend.

How many hours does the East Mississippi Community College Certified Nursing Assistant Program require?

The course involves nine weeks of classroom hours plus a 16-hour clinical rotation and three-hour CPR class, bringing the total to 109 hours.

What extra value does the Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College Health Care Assistant Program provide?

Since the MGCCC program trains you to become a phlebotomist AND healthcare assistant, the increased employability easily offsets any difference in fees.

What do students do after completing the Meridian Community College Healthcare Assistant Program?

Upon completion, students apply to the testing company, Credentia, to take the National Nurse Aide Assessment Program Examination.

What must Mississippi junior and senior high school students do to qualify for Dual Enrollment Accelerated Programs?

To qualify, each student must have a 3.0-grade point average or higher, receive a score of 30 on the ACT or at least 1390 on the SAT, and obtain an unconditional recommendation in writing from their high school guidance counselor, principal, or principal’s designee.

Search Programs