Physical therapist assistants provide outstanding value to the field of physical therapy.
They collaborate with a physical therapist to implement aspects of patient care, to help patients improve their movement, and to reduce their pain.
The state of New Jersey provides people who want to become physical therapist assistants with the opportunity to work under the supervision of a licensed physical therapist.
They may work as a physical therapist assistant after they complete the state’s requirements.
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) lists the expected job growth for physical therapist assistants as “much faster than average.”
The good salary is another reason that some people work as physical therapist assistants.
- How to Become a Physical Therapist Assistant in New Jersey
- Physical Therapist Assistant Schools in New Jersey
- Frequently Asked Questions
How to Become a Physical Therapist Assistant in New Jersey
New Jersey Administrative Code, Title 13, Law and Public Safety, Chapter 39A-2.3, State Board of Physical Therapy, defines the authorized role of a physical therapist assistant.
The state sets forth laws and regulations that are related to the field of physical therapy.
Physical therapists and physical therapist assistants are required to follow the regulations.
The state requires that anyone who wishes to work as a physical therapist assistant in New Jersey meet the educational requirements, the exam requirements, and the requirements for licensure.
Complete Education Requirements
New Jersey requires that physical therapist assistants must complete a minimum of an Associate in Arts degree from an accredited school.
Applicants also complete a two-year physical therapist assistant program.
State requirements to work in this profession include that the program must be “approved for the education and training of physical therapist assistants by an accrediting agency recognized by the United States Department of Education, Office of Postsecondary Education.”
The program must be accredited by the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE).
Pass the Required Exams
Physical therapist assistant applicants who submit proof of their required educational credentials may sit for the National Physical Therapy Examination for physical therapy assistants, “administered by the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy and the State jurisprudence examination.”
Applicants who receive a passing score on the exams are eligible for licensure if they meet all other requirements.
A passing score on the National Physical Therapy Examination for Physical Therapist Assistants is a minimum of 600, based on a score of 200 to 800.
A passing score on the State jurisprudence examination is a score of 80.
Physical therapist assistants are required to renew their licenses every two years.
They submit their renewal application and the required fee before the date of expiration of their current license.
Licensed physical therapist assistants who do not submit the renewal application before their license expires may still renew their license within 30 days after the license expiration.
They must submit the renewal application, renewal fee, and required late fee.
Failure to renew a license within 30 days after it expires will result in license suspension without a hearing.
Physical Therapist Assistant Schools in New Jersey
Mercer County Community College
Mercer County Community College offers a Physical Therapist Assistant Associate in Applied Science (A.A.S.) program.
The student completes general education courses and physical therapy courses with supervised clinical experiences.
Students must have satisfactory performance on the college skills placement test.
Students must pass a criminal background check.
Sample courses include Physical Therapist Assistant Techniques, Kinesiology, and Physical Therapist Assistant Clinical Education.
The in-state tuition rate for the 2023-2024 school year is $211.75 per credit hour.
Rowan College South Jersey
The Physical Therapist Assistant Associate in Applied Science program at Rowan College South Jersey, Gloucester campus is a two-year program.
The college makes application packets available during the preceding spring semester.
Program graduates are prepared to take the national exam, and to work as entry-level physical therapist assistants.
The 2023 first-time exam pass rate was 100 percent.
Tuition is $120 per credit hour.
Essex County College
The two-year accredited Physical Therapist Assistant program at Essex County College requires students to complete 68 credit hours.
They complete general education courses, physical therapy assistant major courses, and a clinical practicum.
Courses include Fundamentals of Physical Therapist Assistants, Kinesiology, and Therapeutic Exercise.
Tuition is $134.24 per credit hour.
Union College of Union County, NJ
Union College of Union County, NJ admits students to the two-year Physical Therapist Assistant Associate in Applied Science program during the fall semester.
The program consists of general education courses, specialized physical therapy courses, and planned clinical experiences.
The tuition rate for Union County residents is $2,640 per semester.
Out-of-county residents pay $4,750 tuition per semester.
Top 4 Schools in New Jersey
|Mercer County Community College
|Mercer County Community College - Student Center and Library, 1200 Old Trenton Rd, West Windsor Township, NJ 08550, United States
|Rowan College South Jersey
|1400 Tanyard Rd, Sewell, NJ 08080, United States
|Essex County College
|303 University Ave, Newark, NJ 07102, United States
|Union College of Union County, NJ
|1033 Springfield Ave, Cranford, NJ 07016, United States
The median salary for physical therapist assistants in the U.S. is $63,701, as of December 2023.
The average salary for physical therapist assistants who are licensed in New Jersey is $70,101.
Salary ranges depend upon the setting and the New Jersey city where a physical therapist assistant works.
One example is that salary.com lists the median salary for a physical therapist assistant who works in Andover, NJ as $72,101, while the median salary for a physical therapist assistant who works in Trenton, NJ is $69,401.Annual Salary Range:
Average Salary of Physical Therapist Assistants in New Jersey
Regional Salary in New Jersey
|Avg. Annual Salary
|Avg. Hourly Pay
|Top 10% Annual Salary
|Bottom 10% Annual Salary
* Employment conditions in your area may vary.
Frequently Asked Questions
Who provides licensure for physical therapist assistants in the state of New Jersey?
Physical therapist assistants and physical therapists are licensed by the State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, which is an agency of the Division of Consumer Affairs.
Do I have to enroll in clinical education courses?
The New Jersey Administrative Code, Title 13, Law and Public Safety, Chapter 39A-5.2 requires that all licensure applicants have completed “all clinical education requirements necessary for graduation from a physical therapist assistant program,” as provided by the accrediting agency.
Are physical therapist assistants in New Jersey permitted to perform physical therapy treatment?
Physical therapist assistants in New Jersey may only initiate physical therapy treatment at the direction of and under the supervision of, a licensed physical therapist.