Arkansas Dental Assistant Schools and Salary Guide

Search Dental Assistant Programs

Get information on Dental Assistant programs by entering your zip code and request enrollment information.

Sponsored Search
Arkansas map

Do you have a concern about the condition of people’s teeth and gums?

If so a career as an Arkansas dental assistant may interest you, and training does not take long.

Search Dental Assistant Programs

Get information on Dental Assistant programs by entering your zip code and request enrollment information.

Sponsored Listings

Licensing Requirements To Become an Arkansas Dental Assistant

The state of Arkansas allows you to perform basic dental assisting duties before becoming certified.

However, state law mandates that you acquire a radiology permit before you become a registered dental assistant (RDA).

Becoming an RDA requires several steps including enrollment in a CODA-approved dental assisting program.

In addition, you need to register for the Arkansas State board of dental examiners and pass an exam.

Additional conditions apply, and you can learn more about them at the dental assisting national board (DANB).

5 Dental Assistant Schools in Arkansas

 1. Arkansas Northeastern College

Arkansas Northeastern College Logo

The nursing and allied health dental assisting program at Arkansas northeastern college take about a year to complete.

This training will prepare you for assisting a dentist in an operating room lab or business office.

This coursework usually takes place once a year.

Training time minus breaks add up to 10 months and this includes supervised clinical experiences and training that will prepare you to take the DANB exam.

2. University of Arkansas Pulaski Tech

University of Arkansas Pulaski Tech Logo

The Technical Certificate in Dental Assisting Program at Pulaski tech teaches you how to work alongside a dentist and with other staff.

You also will immerse yourself in an environment where you will become used to comforting one or more patients every day.

This intensive program requires 25 hours in the fall and 18 hours in the spring.

It only takes place during the day.

3. Little Rock Dental Assistant Academy

Little Rock Dental Assistant Academy Logo

Little Rock makes it a point to help students enter the workforce debt-free upon completing a Dental Assisting program.

Their training schedule is also it is flexible as their tuition payment plans.

You can take online and hybrid training from experienced professionals.

Hands-on lab and classroom instruction is provided.

You may be required to complete your clinical training for 4.5 hours on Saturdays.

Learn about the safe handling of dental instruments and how to prevent infections.

Anatomy Physiology, and charting classes along with hygiene and restorative courses are included.

The externship practical training continues for about 40 hours.

The time spent preparing should enable you to have a full-time job in less than a year.

4. Arkansas Dental Assistant Academy (ADAA)

Arkansas Dental Assistant Academy (ADAA) Logo

ADAA has a Dental Assisting Technical Certificate program that only takes 10 weeks to complete.

You attend classes every Saturday.

This allows you to work and fulfill other obligations during the week.

You will spend most of your time in hands-on training at ADAA.

5.  Apex Dental Education

Apex Dental Education Logo

The APEX training center has six locations in Arkansas.

Learn in Jonesboro, Bentonville, Texarkana, Little Rock, Conway, or Fort Smith.

The certificate program is designed to place you in the workforce as soon as possible.

Your training will prepare you to become an RDA, a certification provided by DANB.

The instruction and practical experience you receive enable you to jump in with both feet as soon as you get your first job.

This training will get you started in probably less than a year before you continue to earn other certificates.

Dental Assistant Schools in Arkansas – Summary Table

Top 5 Schools in Arkansas

School NameAddress
Arkansas Northeastern College2501 S Division St, Blytheville, AR 72315
University of Arkansas Pulaski Tech3000 W Scenic Dr, North Little Rock, AR 72118
Little Rock Dental Assistant Academy11600 Kanis Rd Suite 800, Little Rock, AR 72211
Arkansas Dental Assistant Academy (ADAA)906 Enterprise Dr a, Jonesboro, AR 72401
Apex Dental Education401 S Bowman Rd Little Rock, AR 72217


In April 2022, Arkansas Dental Assistant employees make an average income of $37,637.

Salaries range from about $33,381 to $41,761.

After advanced certification, you could earn $45,516 or more.

Look for jobs in Bryant, Centerton, Clarendon, Conway, and more.

Annual Salary Range:

Average Salary of Dental Assistants in Arkansas

City NameSalary
Little Rock$37,766
Fort Smith$35,647
North Little Rock$37,766
Pine Bluff$36,524
Hot Springs$37,398
* Salary information last updated 2024

Regional Salary in Arkansas

RegionEmployedAvg. Annual SalaryAvg. Hourly PayTop 10% Annual SalaryBottom 10% Annual Salary
Fayetteville-Springdale-Rogers, AR-MO720$38,220$18.38$46,190$31,130
Fort Smith, AR-OK260$35,150$16.9$43,700$28,890
Hot Springs, AR130$34,840$16.75$42,430$29,550
Jonesboro, AR190$35,870$17.25$41,630$30,740
Little Rock-North Little Rock-Conway, AR860$39,840$19.15$48,970$31,730
Pine Bluff, AR40$36,460$17.53$45,910$29,120
* Salary information based on the May 2022 Occupational Employment Statistics (OES) Survey for Dental Assistants, OCC Code 31-9091, BLS.
* Employment conditions in your area may vary.

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the duties of a dental assistant in Arkansas?

The duties of a dental assistant in Arkansas include chairside assistance, taking and developing x-rays, sterilization of instruments, placement of temporary fillings, and taking impressions.

This depends on your certification level though.

However, your priority is to help patients, schedule appointments, and comfort them while they wait for the dentist to see them regardless of experience.

Do I need a degree to become a dental assistant in Arkansas?

No, you do not need a degree for the entry-level position.

However, you must complete an accredited dental assistant program, pass the DANB exam, and obtain a state license if you want to become an RDA.

If you are interested in other lines of work, such as a dental hygienist or a dentist position, more preparation is required of you before becoming hired.

What are the hours like for a dental assistant in Arkansas?

The hours for a dental assistant in Arkansas vary depending on the dental office.

However, most typically run Monday through Friday during regular business hours.

You might have to work half-days on Saturdays.

What is the hardest thing about becoming a dental assistant?

You have to learn how to deal with stress when taking on multiple patients at once.

What is more, you will face strict qualification standards when you first become hired.

For instance, you must have a Covid-19 vaccination and pass workplace health exams.

What are the common workplace hazards for dental assistants in Alabama?

You have to watch out.

Keep your work area clean to prevent slips, trips, and falls.

Do not allow yourself to make contact with blood and bodily fluids either.

Make sure you use proper lifting techniques, such as coming up from your knees while lifting with your legs, so you can prevent back injuries.

Search Programs