Pharmacy technicians can work in a number of retail and medical settings.
They calculate dosages, fill medications, and assist registered pharmacists with a number of tasks.
If you’ve considered working as a pharmacy technician, it’s important to know what the process is to get started in Arkansas.
The more you learn about it all, the easier you can decide if this is the right career move for you.
- Licensing Requirements to Become a Pharmacy Technician in Arkansas
- 5 Pharmacy Technician Schools in Arkansas
- Pharmacy Technician Salary in Arkansas
- Frequently Asked Questions
Licensing Requirements to Become a Pharmacy Technician in Arkansas
There are a few different requirements that need to be met so that you can work as a pharmacy technician in Arkansas.
First, you have to register with the Board of Pharmacy.
This will require you to submit to a criminal background check and provide information regarding your high school education.
Once your application is approved, you will be issued a permit/license that has to be displayed in the pharmacy where you work.
The minimum age to be issued a state license is 18.
Many employers will require national certification.
In order to obtain this, you need to attend an approved pharmacy technician program and pass the PTCB certification exam.
Passing the exam can lead to more opportunities because it shows that you have formal training.
5 Pharmacy Technician Schools in Arkansas
You can take classes online and in person at various schools in Arkansas while studying pharmacy technology.
Explore the schools to see what programs are offered and what the cost will be so that you can get the necessary education to help you succeed.
Arkansas State University
The Beebe campus of ASU offers a Pharmacy Technician Science program.
You’ll learn through online or in-class lectures, lab simulations, and clinical experiences.
There are three options to choose from: Certificate of Proficiency (one semester), Technical Certificate (one year), and Associate of Applied Science in Pharmacy Technology (two years).
The program has been highly ranked, providing you with a valuable education.
The school also offers 100% job placement for its graduates.
The cost of the program varies based on which type of certificate/degree you want to seek.
The average cost per credit hour is $106.
Southern Arkansas University Tech
At SAU, the Pharmacy Tech degree program prepares you with the skills needed regarding dispensing and processing prescriptions.
Over the course of two years, you’ll earn an Associate of Applied Science in Pharmacy Technology.
The courses will focus on providing you with how to package and label prescriptions, math used in pharmacies, and more.
The total number of credit hours for the AAS program is 60.
Arkansas residents will pay tuition of $108 per credit hour.
University of Arkansas – Little Rock
At UA in Little Rock, you can attend an online pharmacy technician course.
It is offered 100% online for your convenience and can prepare you to take the PTCB exam.
The school will also help you prepare for your career with an externship at a leading pharmacy chain.
The curriculum focuses on pharmacy law and ethics, pharmaceutical calculations, communication skills, inventory procedures, and more.
The program is a total of 400-course hours, which will take one year to complete and will result in you receiving a certificate of completion.
It is offered through Ed2Go and costs $2495, which includes a voucher to take the PTCB certification exam.
Black River Technical College
At Black River Technical College, you can attend an online program within the workforce training and community education part of the college.
Located in Paragould, the program can be taken online, and the school can help with arranging an externship for hands-on experience.
You’ll learn about everything from maintaining client records to assisting with inventory control.
The course takes 14 weeks to complete and costs $650, which includes books, supplies, and the certificate of completion.
National Park College
National Park College in Hot Springs offers a Pharmacy Technician program.
The certificate program lasts for 12 months and includes lecture time, lab exercises, and an internship rotation.
A total of 37 credit hours will be earned, which can then be transferred toward an AAS program if desired.
The cost of the program is between $100 and $147 per credit hour, depending on whether you are a resident of Garland County, a resident of Arkansas, or live outside of the state.
Pharmacy Technician Schools in Arkansas
Top 5 Schools in Arkansas
|Arkansas State University||2105 East, Aggie Rd, Jonesboro, AR 72401|
|Southern Arkansas University Tech||6415 Spellman Rd, East Camden, AR 71701|
|University of Arkansas – Little Rock||2801 S University Ave, Little Rock, AR 72204|
|Black River Technical College||1410 Highway 304 East, Pocahontas, AR 72455|
|National Park College||101 College Dr, Hot Springs, AR 71913|
Pharmacy Technician Salary in Arkansas
The salary of a pharmacy technician in Arkansas can vary based on your employer, your skillset, and the experience that you have.
It’s important to explore a few opportunities to see how much you can potentially earn.
The average person working in Little Rock, Arkansas will earn an annual salary of $34,500 according to salary.com.
Those with more skills and experience may earn at the 90th percentile, which is an annual salary of $38,500.Annual Salary Range:
Average Salary of Pharmacy Technicians in Arkansas
|North Little Rock||$34,500|
Frequently Asked Questions
Where are the most job opportunities for pharmacy technicians?
You’ll find that there are job opportunities to work as a pharmacy technician in pharmacies and hospitals all across the state of Arkansas.
Explore some of the more populated cities such as Little Rock, Fayetteville, Fort Smith, and Jonesboro.
Is there growth for pharmacy technicians in Arkansas?
There is growth for pharmacy technicians in Arkansas as well as across the United States.
The Bureau of Labor Statistics estimates that the growth is approximately two percent over the next 10 years.
While slower than other industries, it is still growing, leading to various career opportunities.
How often do pharmacy technicians need to renew licenses and certifications in Arkansas?
The license that is issued upon registering with the Board of Pharmacy expires every two years.
Additionally, the national certification has to be renewed every two years as well.